Cosseted in Ireland’s far northwest corner, Donegal is a county of contrasts and
a holidaymaker’s paradise. With deserted sandy beaches, rugged mountains, challenging
golf courses, big surf & a vibrant Gaeltacht region, your action and relaxation choices
Donegal has many relics to remind people of their proud heritage. The town is set
in a valley girdled by Bluestack Mountains & Donegal Bay. Remains of several earthen
forts can be seen when overlooking the town. There is a record of an early Danish
fortress being destroyed in the town by Murtagh Mac Lochlainn, High King of Ireland
in 1159. The O’Donnell castle in the town was built by the first Red Hugh and his
wife Lady Nuala. They also brought the Franciscan Monks to Donegal. The Abbey was
built in the same year - 1474.
Donegal Town is situated in the North West of Ireland in Co. Donegal. It is 200km
from Galway City, 230km from Dublin & 175km from Belfast.
Take the N3 from Dublin. Take the N17 from Galway. Take the N15 from Sligo. Take
the N13 from Derry.
By bus: Bus Éireann - No. 30 from Dublin, Cavan & Enniskillen. From Galway, Sligo
& Derry it’s No. 64.
Feda O’Donnell Coaches go from Galway & Sligo.
Donegal Railway Museum
Includes historical presentations, artefacts & a shop dedicated to reawakening interest
Donegal’s railway history. Tel: (074) 9722655.
Open all year. Mon - Fri: 10am -5pm, July & Aug Sat & Sun: 2pm - 5pm. Admission:
Adults - €3
Child - €2. Family - €10.
Group rates available.
Donegal Craft Village
Reputedly the best collective of contemporary art,craft & design in Ireland.
Tel: (074) 9725928. Open all year. Free Admission
Overlooking Donegal Bay, Donegal Abbey was erected in 1474 for the Franciscan Friars
by Red Hugh O’Donnell and his wife Nuala. It prospered for over 150 years & produced
one of Ireland’s most important records of history - The Annals of the Four Masters.
Open all year. Free admission
Statue of Red Hugh O Donnell
Located on the pier, this statue was erected in 2007 to commemorate the 400th anniversary
of the “Flight of the Earls“.
Located near the Donegal Railway Museum, this playground is equipped with safe, brightly
Magee’s of Donegal
World famous for their hand-woven heritage, they stock a range of beautiful tailored
garments. Visitors to their store can watch a traditional hand weaver at work by
Open: All year Mon-Sat 9.30am-6.00pm.
Tel: 074 9722660
Located on Quay Streer this anchor belonged to a French ship, the Romaine, which
moored here in 1798. The anchor lay under water until the early 1850’s when it was
moved and placed on the Quay.
This monument in the town centre was erected in the late 1930’s to commemorate the
Four Masters - the four Franciscan Friars who wrote the Annals of the Four Masters.
The Wild Atlantic Gallery features Gifts and Paintings from Local Artist Breege Haughey.
The natural beauty of Donegal is a major influence for Breege. Mark your visit to
Donegal t own with unique cards or prints available from the Gallery, open Tuesday-Saturday,
Walking The 2km Bank Walk along Donegal Bay is an easy start for walkers. For more experienced walkers, there is 65km the Bluestack Way. Fintown Railway Donegal’s only operational narrow gauge railway. This unique journey is a three-mile return trip along the shores of Lough Finn. Tel: 074 9546280.
Sliabh Liag (Slieve League) Approx 1 hours drive from Donegal Town, these cliffs are the highest marine cliffs in Europe with the sheer cliff face stretching straight down to the wild Atlantic waves below. Located near Mountcharles, this contemporary garden whispers stories of walled gardens past, but today stands independently of trends and restorative themes. Tel: 074 9735387
PLACES TO VISIT AROUND DONEGAL
Located in the seaside town of Bundoran, this aqua adventure playground is ideal
for children of all ages and includes two leisure pools, a wave pool with five wave
Tel: 071 9841172
Glenveagh National Park
Located 1 hours drive from Donegal Town, this park encompasses some 16,000 acres
in the heart of the Derryveagh Mountains.
Tel: 076 100 2537
Glencolmcille Folk Village
The museum is built in the form of a village where each house is a replica of the
dwellings used by people in each of the three centuries, 18th, 19th and 20th. Tel:
Killybegs International Carpet
Making and Fishing Centre
This centre offers a fascinating audio visual insight into the history of fishing
and the famous hand-knotted carpets. Also home to the largest hand-knotted loom in
Tel: 074 9741944
The centrepiece of Donegal Town is without a doubt O’Donnell’s Castle better known
as Donegal Castle by the banks of the river Eske. The castle was built by Red Hugh
O’Donnell in 1474 when he also built the Franciscan Abbey further down the river
Tel: (074) 9722405.
Opening Hours: April to October: Mon - Sun: 10am - 6pm. November to March: Thurs
- Mon: 9.30am - 4.30pm.
Fully narrated 75mins cruise of Donegal Bay, its Islands & Seal Colony. Live music
on every trip. Fully wheelchair accessible Purchase tickets in advance from ticket
office on Quay Street. Contact 074 9723666 for further details.